Our religious heritage

The Notre-Dame-de-la-Sagesse Church

The Sixteen Islands Lake Union Church

A few important dates:

  • 1901: Creation of the Notre-Dame-de-la-Sagesse parish as a missionary. It is under the management of the Pastor Montfort and is part of the municipality of Lac-des-Seize-Îles
  • 1904: Construction of a chapelle-school
  • 1906: The Sixteen Islands Lake Union Church is established
  • 1916: Construction of the first catholic church
  • 1923: Establishment of the first Sulpician church of Montreal
  • 1936: Nomination of the first residing priest and the construction of the presbytery
  • 1937: Canonical erection of the perish that gave birth to a new religious institution
  • 1940: Arrival of the Congrégation de Sainte-Croix sister that came from Saint-Laurent (Montreal)
  • 1951: Attached until then to the diocese of Mont-Laurier, the perish becomes under the supervision of the diocese of Saint-Jérôme